Midnight Cosplay | My Hero Academia

my-hero-academia-midnight-cosplay

Recently I put together a Midnight cosplay with the intention of debuting her at DragonCon. I ended up getting swept up in the con flow and won’t be able to wear her until AnimeNYC. All of that aside instead of making all of the pieces from scratch I decided to source as many items as I could so I could create a cosplay kit from utilizing items that I personally have experience with!

For her wig I went with Arda’s Eowyn in Black as it was the closest color available to the blueish black she has going on in the anime. In an ideal world, I would have opted for the same wig in Raven. This wig is beautiful, thick and silky. Despite the silky nature, I had no issues utilizing a blow dryer, flat iron, and Got2B spray and glue to style it.

You can use basically any white bodysuit, black underbust corset and black underwear for her base. I opted for this affordable zentai suit and this basic satin corset. I went with this corset because I was working on a budget and already had some satin fabric that matched it perfectly for creating the overlying piece that connects to her choker. Another option is to go with vinyl or latex for an even more domineering look!

She has purplish thigh-his but I opted for some black sheer ones from Hanes. The top band has a rubber backing so they stay up very well and are a good height in comparison to the height of the boots that I went with. I racked my brain looking for boots and bought and returned several pairs. Although this pair is not pleather all the way around I felt the silhouette was such a good match I took the hit.

For the gold pyramid studs I recommend going with something around 12mm in size. I used these but had trouble punching through the collar piece as I layered satin on top of foam and the studs were not sharp enough to punch through all the layers. For the belt itself as well as the appliques I used vinyl which you will find links for below. Midnight’s belt buckle and mask were 3D printed, primed with Rustoleum and painted with Tamiya and Krylon paints respectively. I’ve included links to Etsy sellers who offer the mask and belt buckle below. For the buckle, you will need to paint the insides red as her buckle is not solid.

Here is a picture of my buckle! If you don’t want to make it yourself or aren’t fond of the ones you have come across but like mine feel free to reach out and I’d be more than happy to commission it for you!

Screen Shot 2018-09-18 at 9.26.13 PM

Nemuri Kayama / Midnight Cosplay Breakdown

Leave a comment